Ananta AtlasUnofficial fan siteUnofficial
English

Is Ananta a gacha game?

Status: Reported Last verified: 2026-10-16 Applies to: Pre-launch information Recheck when: NetEase shows its shop, or a store changes its disclosures
Short answer

No character gacha, but random-item purchases are still flagged.

Interviews with the producer and a NetEase representative say you do not pull for characters. Steam, Google Play and the App Store all carry random-item or loot-box notices, and NetEase has not said what is random.

What is reported and what is confirmed

Character gachaProducer Ash Qi (Famitsu, September 2025) and a NetEase representative (Automaton, September 2026) both say characters are not sold through a gacha. The reason given is fairness: every character should get equal focus.
Reported
Getting charactersPlayable characters can basically all be obtained by playing, and one report says they unlock as the story advances. Exact conditions are not announced.
Reported
Paid itemsMainly customization: character outfits, vehicles (paint and parts) and the home. Specifics are promised for later.
Reported
Cosmetics without payingMany cosmetics can be bought with in-game currency; the paid ones are described as more distinctive. More items are promised at launch than in the demo.
Reported
Store disclosuresSteam shows "Chance based in-game purchases". Google Play shows "In-Game Purchases (Includes Random Items)". The App Store advisory lists "Loot Boxes". The PlayStation Store lists in-game purchases as optional, with no random-item flag seen.
Verified
Taiwan store labelsThe Taiwan App Store listing (Heart Core, for Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau) lists 轉蛋 in its advisory, which is Apple's Taiwan wording; Google Play Taiwan shows 遊戲內購買 (含隨機項目). The Taiwan PlayStation Store says 包含遊戲內購, and the Traditional Chinese official site footer says the game is free but sells virtual currency and items. What is random is not announced.
Verified
Payment methods and prices in TaiwanNot announced yet. No price, premium currency name or payment method (carrier billing, MyCard, gift cards) is published on any official page.
Not announced
What is randomNot announced yet. Whether outfits, vehicle items or home items are sold as random draws or at fixed prices is not stated.
Not announced
Weapons and gearNot announced yet. Reporters could not see how demo weapons are obtained.
Not announced
Battle pass or subscriptionNot announced yet
Not announced
Prices and premium currencyNot announced yet. The pre-registration reward currencies are named, but whether they are paid or free is not stated.
Not announced

Why the answer is not a flat no

Every first-hand statement we found is about characters. None says anything about outfits, vehicle items, weapons or any other product. Meanwhile three store pages carry their own random-item notices. Claiming that nothing in the game is random would go further than any source does, so we keep the two statements side by side.

The character statement itself is reported, not verified: it traces to two Famitsu pieces (23 and 30 September 2025) and an Automaton interview (14 September 2026). We found no NetEase press release or official page that uses the same wording.

What it means for players

  • Characters: according to the reports, you earn them by playing rather than by paying for pulls.
  • Cosmetics: some may be random and some fixed-price. Do not assume either until the shop is shown.
  • Weapons and gear: unknown. We will update this page when NetEase shows how they are obtained.
  • Our rule: the status label on each row tells you how solid it is. See how we label facts.

Status labels

Every claim on this site carries one label. Colour is never the only signal: each label has its own shape and its own word.

VerifiedBacked by an official source we can link: NetEase, a store page or an official channel.
ReportedFirst-hand media report (an interview or hands-on) with no matching official wording that we could find.
ConflictingReliable sources disagree. We list both and do not pick a side.
Not announcedNobody official has answered yet. The row stays so it can be filled in later.

FAQ

Is Ananta a gacha game?

Not for characters, according to interviews with the producer and a NetEase representative. Store pages still flag random-item purchases, so some randomized purchases may exist; NetEase has not said which.

Can I get every character for free?

Reports say playable characters can basically all be obtained by playing the game. The exact unlock conditions are not announced.

Does Ananta have a battle pass?

Battle passes, monthly cards and other subscriptions are not announced yet.

What will be sold in the shop?

Reports point to outfits, vehicle customization and home items. Prices and the currency system are not announced.

Sources

Official sources and first-hand media only. Links open the original page. We self-host only the official images used for identification and the trailer thumbnails, with credit.

  1. 01『無限大ANANTA』はキャラガチャなし!【先出し週刊ファミ通】
    Famitsu · Accessed 2026-10-15
    Media
  2. 02『無限大ANANTA』開発者に“最深”インタビュー(プロデューサーAsh氏)
    Famitsu · Accessed 2026-10-15
    Media
  3. 03『無限大ANANTA』開発者インタビュー(gamescom 2026)
    AUTOMATON JP · Accessed 2026-10-15
    Media
  4. 04GTA-style open-world anime game ANANTA will not have a character gacha system, NetEase confirms
    AUTOMATON West · Accessed 2026-10-15
    Media
  5. 05ANANTA on Steam (app 4814120)
    Steam / NetEase Games · Accessed 2026-10-15
    Official
  6. 06ANANTA - Google Play (com.netease.anantana)
    Google Play / NetEase · Accessed 2026-10-15
    Official
  7. 07ANANTA - App Store (id6776533126)
    Apple App Store / NetEase Interactive Entertainment · Accessed 2026-10-15
    Official
  8. 08ANANTA - PlayStation Store (concept 10009022)
    PlayStation Store / NetEase Interactive Entertainment · Accessed 2026-10-15
    Official
  9. 09『無限大ANANTA』最速試遊リポート【TGS2025】
    Famitsu · Accessed 2026-10-15
    Media
  10. 10ANANTA Official Website (EN)
    NetEase Games / Naked Rain · Accessed 2026-10-15
    Official
  11. 11Ananta launches on January 15, 2027 for PS5, PC, and mobile
    RPG Site · Accessed 2026-10-15
    Media
  12. 12《無限大》官方網站 zh-cht news footer
    NetEase Games / 脈動數位 · Accessed 2026-10-16
    Official
  13. 13無限大 - PlayStation Store (zh-hant-tw)
    PlayStation Store / NetEase Interactive Entertainment · Accessed 2026-10-16
    Official
  14. 14無限大 - App Store (TW)
    Apple App Store / Heart Core · Accessed 2026-10-16
    Official
  15. 15脈動數位遊戲使用許可及服務協議
    NetEase Games / 脈動數位 · Accessed 2026-10-16
    Official

Updates

  • First version, written from the sources listed on this page, as checked on this date.
  • Added the Taiwan store labels (轉蛋, 遊戲內購買) and a row saying Taiwan payment methods and prices are not announced.